top of page
Search
  • e0325394

This Is Goodbye: My Last Sentiments

Hi everyone, this post rounds up my final sentiments for this saga of The Eco Collective. If you have had just a little change in perspective from my 30+ odd posts, I believe that the effort behind researching and writing the blog would have been worth it! I do intend to continue blogging even after the semester ends and will target a larger spectrum of topics and industries. Do continue to tune in if these are issues you are interested in.


I have summarized some of my thoughts into pointers below, feel free to comment what you think!



(Source: https://kaleela.com/goodbye-in-arabic-parting-ways-in-arab-culture-useful-vocabulary/)



Issues of sustainability is not just about the environment


Regardless of the industry (beauty of fashion), type and extent of pollution, a constant learning point from my research is that issues of sustainability goes beyond concerns about the environment. Yes, impacts of such industries are often concentrated directly at environmental damage, therefore it is no surprise that we focus our attention in reversing such effects. However, the implications of ‘solving’ these environmental issues are not just simply a matter of finding the right engineering or scientific solution.


In fact, as reflected through examples of mica mining and dyeing factories etc… We see how the practices of the fashion and beauty industry are often filled with socio-economic and political complexities. For example, if we were to ban all mining sites out of protection for the environment, our habitats will benefit, but what are the implications on communities that rely on such activities for their livelihoods? Fashion and beauty industries are important economic sectors for many countries. By reducing their output and rates of production, it will inevitably lead to a shift in economic constituents for them. Therefore, while it is great that many are actively looking for solutions towards these pollution issues, we cannot ignore the social and economic realities that are interlaced within these industries.


As consumers, we have more responsibility and power to change than we think


A good majority of the papers I have reviewed often point the blame of environmental pollution to big companies in the fashion and beauty industries. However, as noted in many of my posts, I would like to emphasize how consumers should also be held accountable to these environmental impacts.


Afterall, as consumers, we are ultimately the main player in driving demand for a product or service. Highlighted through movements such as Slow Fashion, we can see how the onus is on us to demand for transparency and exercise caution and diligence in determining which sustainable products to buy.

Speaking of buying, I’m sure you have heard the saying that not purchasing is the most sustainable option there is out there. While this situation is ideal, it is rather unobtainable. Therefore, what can we do as consumers to ensure we do our best to reduce our environmental impact?


Though our individual actions may seem insignificant, I urge you to see the bigger picture! By reducing our demand and enforcing stricter standards for producers, we can cause a cascade of effect that is larger than imagined!



My Final Goodbye


Well, it has been an honour to be able to share with the class about the environmental impacts of the fashion and beauty industry. This exercise has truly been an enriching one, and I find myself questioning my shopping habits more each day! I hope that throughout my posts, I have also cultivated a sense of responsibility in my fellow classmates, such that we will be increasingly critical if the products we purchase, and seek to reduce our waste as much as possible.


Adios!



5 views0 comments

©2022 by the-eco-collective. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page